I’ve been moving away on this blog from responding to every issue that pops up in news reports or idiotic post in the moronosphere. It takes a lot of time and energy to keep up with it all, not to mention the time to do a bit of research, draft what I hope is a reasonable or at least intelligent response, and then post it. There must be better things I can do, I tell myself. But what?

From time to time, I try to post a bit of writing that lies dormant in one of the dozens of folders on my computer. Some of them, I’ve flogged but have had rejected. Others are things I’ve had to get off my chest and poured out through the keyboard. I’m not sure if anyone reads these, and it gets like my old job at CBC Radio where you’d bust your butt getting something done, send it over the air, and then…. hissssss (the sound of static).

One thing I know. Issues that get me thinking require that I deal with them somehow. But the pressure, put on me by me, to react immediately (or at least timely) often results in half-baked ideas get posted. As you can tell, I’m not satisfied. I need to do something here that means something, that I can feel good about.

I’m not sure what that means except it means change. Less frequent postings? More time to think? Better writing? More meaning? Will anybody give a crap except me?

It’s that last one that seem most important to me. Why should I care what anyone else thinks? Do I really care? Should I? Really, should I?

