wente… a relative embarrassment

I’m in the car, and my iPod battery is dead.  I turn on Q on CBC Radio One just in time to hear  host, Jian Ghomeshi, introduce a media panel considering the question: Are Canadians too moderate?” On deck: John Cruickshank (former editor at the Globe and Mail, former head of  CBC News and now publisher at the Toronto Star), Judy Rebick (formerly Status of Women, now rabble.ca), and Margaret Wente (columnist at G&M).

After listening for a few minutes, I get that old familiar feeling. You know what I mean. Aunt What’s-Her-Face is visiting. She’s a doddering old fool, set in her ways, who mutters insults as though they’re pearls. She has that old auntie smell. If you don’t know what I mean, give a listen for yourself. See if you don’t agree.

The most surprising comment for me: Wente doesn’t see herself as right-wing. Makes me wonder about the company she keeps if she sees herself as either centrist or even a bit of a lefty? Not the company I’d want at my dinner party.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “wente… a relative embarrassment

  1. Jennifer

    Margaret Wente is not left, right or centre-wing. She’s of some posh two-block radius in Toronto, an area that she has apparently not left in about 20 years. That’s why she don’t know anything real, like culture as it’s actually lived.

Leave a Reply

